James E. Wheat Award

The spirit of the festival is one of voluntary cooperation which has its fullest expression each year as dozens of committees and individuals work together.  In 1975, the operating directors established the James E. Wheat Award in order to recognize truly exceptional leaders, who through the years have given most unselfishly of their time and talents to the Tyler County Dogwood Festival.

The award, named in honor of the founder of the festival, will be presented annually at the discretion of the directors to the person or persons who are felt to have exhibited the spirit of cooperation which James E. Wheat thought was the key to success in this endeavor.


Congratulations to our 2024 Recipients!

Sandy Reider

Tillman Johnson

Wade Wardlaw



Official Website of the Tyler County Dogwood Festival - Copyright © 2017 All Rights Reserved